I have been rereading a few of Madeleine L’Engle’s books, as mentioned in my previous post, as a way of honoring the memory of a much-loved children’s writer who died recently. (Although she wrote adult books as well, I really know her best as a children’s author. In fact she famously said: “You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children. “)

What strikes me as I reread A Wrinkle in Time, Meet the Austins, and A Ring of Endless Light is the sheer wholesomeness of the characters in her books. I love the families she creates. The Austins are honorable people. The parents are warm and loving yet have good solid boundaries for their children. The children fight and cry, but they are also unabashed about showing not only their parents but also each other love and affection. I realize, upon rereading L’Engle’s work, that much of my worldview, much of my desire for strong family loyalty, connection, love, and communication was inspired by the work of writers like L’Engle.

Thank you, Madeleine L’Engle.

